Historical Society of Walton County

Click here to edit subtitle

History and Purpose of the Society

The Historical Society of Walton County was founded in 1972 by a group of like-minded citizens with the purpose of developing a community-wide understanding of the value of historic buildings, neighborhoods and heritage. The Society currently boasts over 120 members who are interested in preserving Walton's history through education and public awareness.

One of the Society's biggest achievements to date was the purchase and restoration of the historic Davis-Edwards House in Monroe, which now serves as its headquarters. The home has been meticulously restored to reflect how a family might have lived in the 1800's and houses many wonderful pieces relevant to Walton's past.


The home, which is on the National Register of Historic Places, is open for group tours upon request.  Admission to the house is $3 per person and children under 12 are free.  The Davis-Edwards House is also available for rental for various functions such as luncheons, weddings, showers, meetings, etc. For more information about touring this beautiful home or to plan an event, please call (770) 267-6663 or (770) 207-1229.

For more information about the history of the Davis-Edwards House, please visit the "Davis Edwards House" tab on this website.

Current Members  of the Board

President – Al Stephens

Vice-President – Dexter Adams

Secretary – Betty Forrester

Treasurer – Gail Huie-Smith

Steve Brown

Susan Brown

Dianne Cown

Jennifer Mata

Blake Peters

go back to the top